WTNC 2015: that's a wrap! Winnings await you at BSP

Well, with the last WTNC of the year a combination rainout and metal-plate-out, we're having to be a bit creative in how we get the winner's cheques out. But we have a plan!

Our good friends at Bicycle Sports Pacific have the winner cheques. You can pick them up at their Road Bike Studio (999 Pacific Street, Vancouver: it's downtown at the foot of the Burrard Bridge) until September 13, and get your photo with the glorious WTNC trophy. As a super bonus, BSP will offer you a special Winner's Discount if you won a cheque, so you can spend your winnings RIGHT THERE! We recommend this.

(If you didn't win, and want to ask for a loser's discount, that's between you and BSP).

How we award prizes

The alphabeticized list of WTNC prize recipients is below. If you scored at least five points in the WTNC, we pay you. The category payout per point is as follows:


And here are all the people who won money (bold=category winner):

EV is back! Mostly! WTNC stuff!

Please excuse the mess while we recover our website. Some content may be a bit missing or a bit out of date at the moment, but we'll do our best to chase down the gremlins.

Thanks for your patience. Racing continues as normal at UBC on August 4.

And while I have your attention, Here's some policy about stuff that annoys the race organizers, or the racers, or whatever.

Warming up: not on the race course

At both UBC and Burnaby, warming up on the course is forbidden. This means you, later-start riders warming up during early races. At Glenlyon, it is permissible to warm up opposite the course (on the other side of the road, that is), but do not expect the traffic control crew to stop cars for you. At UBC, we expect you to avoid Stadium Road except as needed to get to registration, and with extreme deference to any packs (in other words, if they're approaching from behind you, get off the road).

2015 Spring Series, Stage Race dates

What's that you say? 2015 Spring Series dates are ready, and it's not even Hanukkah yet? It's an Advent Miracle!

The Spring Series, Canada's most overly-competitive Equinox-straddling road racing series, is back in the Fraser Valley for another great year.

We've decided to make it more trying by adding time trials: four of them, on select Sundays, after the road race is done. We hope new racers especially will take the chance to use these TTs as a gentle introduction to the sport. You can enter the road race or the TT, but if you make it a Combo of Suffering, the TT costs only $10 extra!

We also have dates and deets for our DEVO Stage Race. EV Cares, so this year's race will feature less gravel and more sunshine. The new race dates are May 9 & 10, which our crack astrologers assure us is nowhere near Winter. Dress accordingly.

EV Wants You, if You Want to Be Our u17/u19 Coach

DEVO, based in Vancouver is looking for a head coach for our u17/u19 road program. The right individual must have a passion for coaching youth and road racing and able to meet the challenge of continuing to develop a first rate youth cycling program.

The successful candidate will have NCCP coaching certification or be working towards certification and be a self-starter with experience in developing ride and skill development plans. Mentoring with the current coach Jesse Reams will be available until Jesse’s planned relocation in the Spring.

Effective Date: January 1, 2015
Position: DEVO u17/u19 Road Head Coach Job Description
Type: Part-Time
Salary: Commensurate with experience

Key Responsibilities:
1. u17/u19 Road program planning coaching and coordination
2. Sponsor and club relations
3. Reporting

1. U17/U19 program planning, coaching and coordination
The Coach will develop, plan and implement an annual development program which utilizes Escape Velocity’s administrative and material support and has the following characteristics:

November 29: Join Us for EV's Annual Charity Ride

EV/DEVO pb Catalyst Kinetics continues a tradition begun by the late Lorne Bodin: the EV Annual Toy Ride supporting the Lower Mainland Christmas Bureau. Tell all your friends to come out to join us and donate to help bring a bit of holiday cheer to disadvantaged families in the Lower Mainland.

The moderate-pace ride around the UBC-Richmond loop departs Musette Caffe at 9 AM.

Donations may be made online via Chimp.

All riders are welcome to join us for this holiday tradition!

We can collect cheques (we prefer them, even) at the start of the ride, too. please make them out to "Lower Mainland Christmas Bureau."